Day Trippin- Angelsey Abbey July 2017

A good day trip is the BEST thing to do in England. There are so many places within a short drive away.

On Friday’s I usually spend some time looking up fun places to go for the weekend and if any have events going on. My poor husband gets about 5-7 links and I make him pick!!

On our first weekend in England, our sponsor and new friends introduced us to National Trust. This organization has taken a huge role in preserving English heritage by renovating and maintaining Castles, Estates, Abbeys, and much more. The great thing about the properties is that there is almost ALWAYS one on the way to our longer travel so we try to use them as stopping points along with day trips. Their app is also outstanding. I use it all the time! Each of the properties is so unique and most have a large amount of land to play on so Carter LOVES them and will put up with daddy and mommy touring the homes.

Ok…Here’s our first property we visited!

ANGLESEY ABBEY

Welcome to a little slice of heaven. I cannot describe how beautiful it is. And the extensive paths allow for a different experience every time you go.

IMG_4563

The floral gardens are breathtaking. They are so well manicured and so serene. I could take a picnic and a book an sit here for hours.

IMG_4568

But of course those beautifully created rows also make the best running paths for our little busy bee. PS…the bees here are no joke. I guess they have plenty of flowers to source from!

IMG_4573

And adding some friends to the trip makes it even more fun. Carter and Eloise are the best partners in crime! Sharing snacks along the way.

IMG_4580

There are two types of paths at Anglesey, the manicured and the “off the beaten path” kind. Both are beautiful but tracking through the woods is so much fun. They have tunnels and play areas along the way. It brings out the kid in ALL of us!

IMG_4587

And a quick shoe selfie was necessary. These Sorel boots are the KEY to surviving rain in comfort and style.

IMG_0296

Walking along with my crew is the best. And for all you mommas out there…invest in a backpack! It has been game changing for all of our travel. I LOVE the Fawn Design bag I got a while ago and have been so impressed with its storage and durability!

Anglesey-You have a piece of my heart. As one of my favorites and our first day trip in England, I will hold you dearly forever!

xox-Kristen

Leave a comment